Subway Directions – “Healthy Street” —- Will I Lose/Gain Weight If I Change my Lifestyle?

Interesting Harvard Research on Weight Control!

Ok, I must say after you read this either you will be happy because you already are on the right subway to “BETTER HEALTH STREET” or you keep missing the subway. Whatever it is just try to institute one thing at a time until you are on the right transportation portal to “BETTER Health Street”.

In a powerful new landmark report that sought to drill down to which specific dietary and lifestyle factors most closely correlated to weight gain over time, Harvard researchers uncovered some very striking and consistent findings. This very large study involved over 115,000 adults followed for up to 20 years. The study looked at diet, exercise, sleep, and TV viewing, and one factor stood out as the most influential for weight gain: food choices.

The specific foods associated with the greatest weight gain over time were (in descending order): potato chips, other forms of white potatoes, sugary beverages, unprocessed meats, and processed meats.

Thankfully, the researchers also found that increasing the consumption of certain foods protected against weight gain. These “eat more – weigh less” foods were (in descending order) yogurt, nuts, fruits, whole grains, and vegetables.

In summary, the most effective strategies for avoiding long term weight gain included:
• Doing your carbs right! Avoiding the great white hazards – white flour products, white rice, white potatoes, and sugar (especially sugary beverages). Eating more fruits, veggies and whole grains.
• Eating nuts (raw) and yogurt (plain is best choice for highest success rate) regularly.
• Restricting meats, including the processed varieties.

Modified from Dr. Ann Kulze

EXERCISE 30 MINUTES


Minimize/Restrict the WHITE FOODS

  • White Flour Products- This is so hard I am down to 80% of my day no white flour (dinner)
  • White Rice – I buy Brown Jasmine Rice at the Chinese Market 100% off white rice except special occasions
  • White Potatoes- I eat only sweet potatoes for breakfast or lunch
  • Sugar/Sweets- I am on the minimize level for this one, I use Stevia 85% of my day.

5 or MORE SERVINGS of VEGGIES (about 3 cups total)

This was hard for me at first; I started by consuming at lunch and snack after (click to see my video)lunch I eat my FRESH cooked /raw veggies.
Best are any dark leafy:

  • Greens/lettuce, Cabbage, Broccoli, Cauliflower,Asparagus
  • Brussels Sprouts, Carrots
  • Sweet potatoes, Red/orange/yellow Bell Peppers
  • Onions, Garlic, Leeks, Tomatoes

2 or MORE SERVINGS OF FRUIT (about 1 cup total)


Best are berries / Superfruits:

  • Cherries, Plums, Red grapes, Pomegrante, Blackberries, Rasberries, blueberries
  • Any whole citrus, Cantaloupe, Peaches, Apples
  • Pears, Kiwi, Avocado
  • Dried or fresh apricots (if overweight or diabetic
    limit to 2 fruits and avoid dried fruit)

At least 1 serving (1/2 cup) of beans/legumes

Any variety in any form –
canned, fresh, frozen, or dried. I add beans to my salads, chilli, soups, stews.

MY LUNCH -WAS YUMMY!!!他是了好吃!

20120518-151953.jpg

Image credit: www.123rf.com

